Author: webmaster

End of season bash

It was agreed: The Mieco beach Yacht Club’s End of Season Bash Friday night at the Marshall Islands Resort was one of the club’s best ever with over 50 people turning up for the event. A slideshow of 11 years of races and club events was a highlight, with many guests remembering club members and friends from years past. Think Dee Johnson, Richard Hickson, Joe and Kaye McCarthy, Grant James, Jessica Souke, Caleb McClennen, and more… Emcee on the night was Commodore Clementine Ellasos, with Race Director Claude Rivet announcing the season’s placings. First place honors went to Pacfic Hwy’s Bruce Masterson, who invited the 11 people who had crewed on his boat over the season to take a bow for the crowd. Second place went to X’s David Addleman and third to Seal’s Cary Evarts. The other yachts that sailed in the 2014-15 season were Tabby Cat, French Kiss, Pogeyan, Snufkin, and...

Read More

Pacific Highway wins last race

  Four yachts competed in the Barney van Auken Memorial Race on Sunday. It was a brilliantly sunny day with a brisk breeze of between 15 to 20 knots. The captains and crews on X, Pacific Highway, French Kiss and Seal all had a great day out on the water. All the boats finished within one minute on corrected time, with Pacific Hwy taking first, X second, French Kiss third, and Seal fourth. The club’s next event will be the ‘End of Season Bash’ at the Marshall Islands Resort on Friday, March 20 from 6pm. The club is hosting...

Read More

Record 38 Boats in Beer Can Race

A record of 38 competitors took part in the annual Mieco Beach Yacht Club Beer Can Race, held last Sunday (February 8) in the shallows off the Marshall Islands Resort. Race director Claude Rivet ran the heats, with four boats competing in each. Two Coop School students help monitor the finish line along with Vice Commodore Cary Evarts. Club member Grant Bilyard chase the runaway boats using his stand-up paddle board. First place was taken out by Canvasback Missions’ Dr. Bob Blue, whose canoe was ‘crewed’ by Davidson David. Grant won second place and Canoe House instructor Linton Baso (who helped build the boats) took out third. Moten Naisher won the participants...

Read More